top of page

More Elevation Less Distance - Training

Another training ride for the Triple Bypass, and nearing the end of my available training time as I will be on vacation soon, then the ride is the weekend after I get back from Vacation. We enjoyed the ride up to Big Mountain pass so much, we decided we'd do it again. This time we are time constrained so we've made it shorter to only go up to the top of big mountain from the Hogle Zoo (which includes Emigration canyon climb) and back. Because I knew it was going to be short, I pushed us up both Emigration Canyon and Big Mountain pass, trying to maintain a better average. From the start to the top of big mountain (15 miles) I ended up pushing at a average of 8.2mph which ranks me 4 in all time on that stretch in Strava - took a total of 1:50:28 to ride 15 miles and 2,423 feet in elevation. Emigration Canyon itself took me 42:28 at an average 10.7mph. Big Mountain is split into multiple segments in Strava, but the main 7% average grade shows an average speed of 6.1mph over about 4 miles distance. I didn't notice it when I was riding, but there is a section of 9% grade, which is probably about the time I said, "Ugh!!"


Top of Emigration Canyon looking out at Little Dell Reservoir




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Last Easy Ride

It is the week of the the Triple Bypass, I am both nervous and excited. I really feel like I am ready for this ride but am a bit worried...

Comments


bottom of page