top of page

Did somebody say Fat Tire Biking?

This year I decided that I needed a Fat Tire bike for winter riding. While for the most part I can almost always find a dry trail here along the Wasatch front, I really wanted to get some riding in the snow this year. Over the weekend I picked up a 2017 Salsa Mukluk Carbon GX1 that the LBS had sitting around from 2017.....I know, but it was a killer deal. As the name indicates, it is a full carbon frame and equipped with Sram GX1 components, a 26T chainring and a 11 speed 11-42T cassette. Sram Level T Hydro brakes attached to Surly My Other Brother Darrel wheels which ride on a balloony 4.8" wide 45NRTH 60 TPI tire (both front and back). I had the LBS set it up tubeless of course.

The ride was fantastic, it snowed this morning then the sun came out so I went out to Antelope Island to ride the 7 mile loop that has some nice climbing, a decent amount of flat, and some good downhills. The trail overall was mostly snow covered with patches of slush and just a bit of mud; the performance of the bike in these changing conditions is incredible!


Overall stats for the ride:

Temperature: 28 degrees F

Distance: 7.34 Mi

Time: 1:01

Elevation gain: 696 ft




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Last Easy Ride

It is the week of the the Triple Bypass, I am both nervous and excited. I really feel like I am ready for this ride but am a bit worried...

Comments


bottom of page